Our History

The Association of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Uganda (AOGU) began over 25 years ago, when a small group of obstetricians began to realize that professionals in their discipline were very separated and that it would be more beneficial to group together and work as a team.This group wanted to create a space where health professionals could exchange knowledge and in the year 1985 AOGU was formed as a professional association. AOGU started as a small association where members gathered to discuss the work that each one was doing. The first few years were a challenge, especially for recruiting new members. Many obstetricians and gynaecologists in Uganda were already members of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in the UK from having studied abroad, and were hesitant about the need for establishing another such association in Uganda. With time, however, AOGU gained more and more credibility and has achieved many successes. AOGU now has over 140 members, has established relationships with everal partners and is involved in many projects.In 1998, AOGU met with the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) and established a partnership in the year 1999. Through the AOGU – SOGC Partnership, the association was able to gain an office space with a set address and establish a secretariat. AOGU also moved forward by extending membership to include other disciplines, including midwives and nurses.

Founding Members of AOGU:

  1. Professor Frederick Bulwa
  2. Professor Francis Miiro
  3. Professor Florence Mirembe
  4. Dr Apollo Karugaba
  5. Dr Jotham Musinguzi
  6. Dr Nicholas Senkatuka
  7. Dr Saul Rumanda

Core Values and Principles:

  • Professionalism
  • Transparency and Accountability
  • Responsiveness
  • Innovation
  • Dynamism
  • Teamwork and Commitment
  • Partneship
  • Standards and Quality

The mandate of AOGU is to promote professionalism, undertake research, represent its members at local, regional & international level, and champion Sexual and Reproductive Health & Rights of the people in the region

Past presidents of AOGU

Dr. Kiggundu Charles
2013 – 2015
Dr. Byaruhanga N. Romano
2011 – 2013
Dr. Dan Murokora
2009 – 2011
Dr. Frank Kaharuza
2007 – 2009
Dr. Wasswa
2005 – 2007
Dr. Pius Okong
2002 – 2004
fmProf. Florence Mirembe
1998 – 2002
Professor Frederick Bulwa 1985 – 1991